National Lipstick Day | My Top 5!

As many of you beauty junkies know, yesterday was National Lipstick Day. Now maybe it’s just me, but I think that lipstick is such a wonderful creation that it deserves a whole weekend of celebrations rather than just a single day…so here we are!
In order to honour my favourite makeup product, I’ve put together a list of the top 5 lipsticks that I’m currently loving, alongside the reasons why they float my boat…

Kiko Lip

1. Kiko Velvet Mat Satin in ‘613’ – £6.90
This lipstick was the first product I ever bought from Kiko and can definitely be credited as the reason I fell in love with the brand. First of all, the packaging is absolutely stunning. Like seriously, how is this product only £6.90?! The beautiful rose gold bullet makes it look like it could easily be found in the high-end beauty section of Selfridges, rather than in a drugstore-priced shop. The lipstick itself has an amazing creamy formula and is super comfortable to wear, despite the almost matte finish. 613
is a gorgeous pinky nude and the perfect accompaniment to a girly summer outfit.

Kiko Swatch
Kiko – 613

Rimmel Lip

2. Rimmel Moisture Renew in ‘Dark Night Waterl-oops’ – £6.49
I have an embarrassingly large collection of Moisture Renew lipsticks. They are honestly amazing. Rimmel always seems to get their lip products right on point, and in my opinion these are the best of an already fabulous bunch. Apart from the fact that they’re packaged in a wonderfully sleek purple bullet, they also have a brilliant variety of colours in their line. Dark Night Waterl-oops is definitely a favourite, as it’s deep, berry hue dresses up even the simplest of makeup looks, meaning that I’m always ready for a night out when this is in my handbag. If you like purpley reds, then this is a must have for you!

Waterloops Swatch
Rimmel – Dark Night Waterl-oops

Mac Lip
3. MAC Satin Finish Lipstick in ‘Faux’ – £15.50
Everyone knows that MAC is the Queen of lipstick, so would this list really be complete without one of their finest creations? Yes, it’s another pinky nude. This one has a little bit more of a brown tone to it than the Kiko one, but is definitely just as beautiful. Faux is absolutely perfect for those days when you want a flawless, yet natural look and I’ve heard that it’s a favourite amongst many brides on their big day. I actually wore it when I was a bridesmaid at my brother’s wedding, and I love looking back at the photos from the day because my lip colour is really slaying!

Faux Swatch.jpg
MAC – Faux

Rimmel 2 Lip
4. Rimmel Provocalips 16HR Kiss Proof Lip Colour in ‘Kiss Fatal’ – £6.99
Another one from Rimmel that I’m currently obsessed with. In the tube, Kiss Fatal looks like a very deep purpley red, but it actually comes off much lighter. It’s a liquid lipstick that has two steps: the colour and a sealing gloss. It’s a great alternative to a traditional lipstick when you fancy something a bit more glossy with just as much of a colour payoff, and this particular shade goes with literally everything. It’s a great one to reach for on a day when you haven’t fully decided what you’re going to be wearing.

Provocalips Swtahc.jpg
Rimmel – Kiss Fatal

Rev Lip
5. Makeup Revolution Iconic Pro Lipstick in ‘Looking Ahead’ – £2.49
I’m not going to lie, the first thing that drew me to this lipstick was the packaging. At first glance, it’s really reminiscent of the MAC packaging, albeit with rose gold detailing rather than the classic silver. At only £2.49 for a lipstick, the price of the Iconic Pro line is pretty much unbeatable when you take into account just how good the quality is too. Makeup Revolution is one of my go-to brands at the moment, so it’s no surprise that one of their lipsticks made the cut onto my list of favourites. Looking Ahead is a semi-sheer brick-red, and perfect for when you want to go for a red but don’t fancy committing to anything too bold. The texture is creamy and hydrating: perfect for a daytime OR a nighttime look.

Revolution Swatch.jpg
Revolution – Looking Ahead


So there you go – my current favourites! What are your go-to lippies at the moment?

H x

4 thoughts on “National Lipstick Day | My Top 5!

Leave a Reply

