Glossybox Unboxing | August

If you haven’t yet discovered subscription boxes, where on earth have you been hiding? Why are you choosing to miss out on the sheer, unadulterated joy of a box full of beauty goodies arriving on your doorstep every month? Honestly, there’s just something about ripping packaging and rifling through tissue-paper that makes me so giddy every time the postman knocks on my door. And today was one of those days – yay!

This morning my Glossybox arrived in all it’s pretty pink glory. After wrestling it from the jaws of my over-hyped dog, I dove straight in to discover what treats GB had in store for us this month. Overall, I was genuinely impressed. The last box I received kind of dampened my spirits, as I really didn’t rate most of the products that came with it, but Glossybox have definitely made up for it with their August edition…probably because it’s their birthday box! They’ve decided to celebrate by releasing a limited edition, collectors box designed by of-the-moment luxury label, Rae Feather, and it’s super cute. Grey and pink are my favourite colour combination at the moment, so this was right up my street (I might even hold onto it for display purposes because I’m weird like that).

Now to get down to the nitty gritty: my first impressions!

GB Palette

MUA – Eyeshadow Palette in ‘Hall of Fame’

The first thing that caught my eye was an MUA eyeshadow palette. This product wasn’t exactly a surprise, as last month Glossybox circulated an email asking all subbies to pick which palette they wanted – out of a choice of 4 – as a special GB birthday gift. Now, it’s no secret that I’m a big fan of MUA palettes (click HERE to check out my blog post on their Romantic Efflorescence one), and this one certainly lived up to my expectations. It’s made up of a variety of matte and shimmer neutral shades, with a couple of gorgeous blues thrown in for good measure. I know for a fact that I’m going to get a lot of use of it, so I’m definitely happy!

GB Lotion

Cowshed – Wild Cow Invigorating Body Lotion

The next item that I picked out of the box was the Wild Cow Invigorating Body Lotion by Cowshed. I’m not actually familiar with this brand, but that doesn’t bother me too much because I’m always excited to try something new. It’s infused with a blend of Lemongrass, Ginger and Rosemary essential oils and claims to be a ‘luxe’ product that is good for introducing moisturising properties to your skin. One thing that immediately struck me was the smell. It’s strong. Like, really strong. Personally I am a fan of gingery scents, but this one was just too overpowering to be considered pleasant. I’ll still give the lotion a go, but if the smell gets too much I’ll be passing it along to my mum.

GB Brush

Spa to You – Deep Pore Facial Cleansing Brush

I have never tried a facial cleansing brush before (I’m more of a ‘slap it on, wipe it off’ kind of girl), but one of my best friends absolutely swears by them as a holy grail beauty tool. This one certainly looks interesting. It’s not battery powered, so it doesn’t vibrate like some of the more expensive ones do, but it still looks like it would be perfect for buffing away any dead skin cells that might be hanging around your face. I’ve always struggled with my pores, so hopefully by introducing this into my skincare regime it might help to keep those pesky blackheads at bay! I’ve got my fingers crossed…

GB Mask

Mudmasky – Facial Detox Purifying Recovery Mask

Like I’ve just said, I have a problem with my pores – so when I saw this product peeping through the tissue paper I did a little dance of joy (internally of course, people were watching). I’m obsessed with mud masks, especially those that claim to come with a ton of benefits for the skin. The pretty teal packaging declares that this one is pore refining, hydrating, anti-aging (!), brightening and smoothing, all of which sound pretty darn good to me. I’m super excited to try this out in my next pampering sesh!

GB Makeup Bag

Rae Feather – Mini Monogram Pochette

The last thing in this month’s box was an adorable little bag, again designed by Rae Feather. The material that it’s made from appears to be hemp, and it’s decorated in the prettiest of pinks with GB emblazoned across the middle. I think that it’s the perfect size to use as a makeup bag, and I will probably keep it in my handbag in an attempt to combat the 6000 lipsticks that are currently rolling around in the bottom of there. Not sure that I would ever purchase something from this brand myself though, Rae Feather is exxpppeennnsssiiiveee….

So there you have it – my August Glossybox! As I mentioned before, I’m actually really impressed, especially with the palette and the mud mask. The total value of this month’s box comes to a whopping Β£103.99, and considering it only costs Β£10(+P&P) per month, you really can’t complain. I’m already excited for their September edition!

Fave: The mud mask!
Flop: The lotion. It’s just too smelly…

Have you subscribed to Glossybox? If not, click HERE to check out their website.

Love, H x

P.s – What was your favourite product this month?

12 thoughts on “Glossybox Unboxing | August

Leave a Reply

