August’s Hidden Gem | Goddess of Love Highlighter

Okay, I’ll hold my hands up. I seem to have developed a serious addiction to buying highlighters. And I’m not entirely sure how it happened. All I know is that one day I woke up and decided that I could no longer own a face that didn’t have excessively shimmery cheekbones – and thus developed the obsession.

Luckily for me, the dream that is drugstore makeup shopping means that I don’t always have to break the bank to get my hands on a great one. For example, a few weeks ago I was bumbling around Superdrug trying to fit the entire shop into my basket when I chanced upon a hidden gem: the Goddess of Love triple baked highlighter by I Heart Makeup.

GoddessHighlight1

For those of you who don’t know about I Heart Makeup, they are the baby sister of the increasingly popular brand Makeup Revolution. Since I started my blog I have done a fair few posts about Makeup Revolution, essentially because I think that they are producing top-quality products for more than affordable prices. And honey, I am all about that life. When you have a problem with spending all your money on makeup, it really does help to be a fan of some of the cheaper brands!

In terms of packaging, it is easy to notice that the creators were inspired by Too Faced’s Sweathearts Blushes. Like the Too Faced ones, the highlight (along with the rest of their Blushing Hearts collection) comes in an adorable heart-shaped box. Inside, the product is a beautiful iridescent peachy-gold and quite unlike anything else I have seen at the drugstore recently. Now, I’m not normally someone who finds herself swayed by packaging, but I have to admit that this one really captured my attention – and for only Β£4.99, I couldn’t resist picking it up!

GoddessHighlight3

When I first swatched Goddess of Love on the back of my hand, I actually wasn’t that overwhelmed. Don’t get me wrong I thought it looked nice, but it just didn’t strike me as anything more impressive than the 100,000 highlighters that I already owned. However, the second I put it on my face my mind was changed.

I can’t even put into words why or how it looks so stunning, it just does. Somehow it manages to be bold without being overly audacious; shimmery without being too garish. I fell for it quickly and I fell for it hard! It’s definitely my new favourite, and I honestly believe that it deserves a lot more attention then it’s currently getting.

GoddessHighlight4

Goddess of Love wins the coveted (lol ) prize of being my Hidden Gem for the month of August, simply because it possesses the wonderful quality of working beautifully with both daytime and nighttime looks. Seriously, what more could you ask for?

It is available exclusively in Superdrug stores (or online at Tambeauty.com) and really is such a steal at only Β£4.99, so if you have the opportunity to pick it up, I definitely recommend that you don’t pass this one by.

Have you tried Goddess of Love before? Let me know in the comments below!

Love, H x

P.s – An Average Wednesday is now on Twitter! Click HERE to give us a cheeky follow!

 

9 thoughts on “August’s Hidden Gem | Goddess of Love Highlighter

Leave a Reply

