August Favourites…

Yes, it’s that time again. Another month has been and gone at the speed of light, which in bloggerland can only mean one thing – favourites!

Today’s post is a delightful homage to all the things that have impressed or inspired me during the month of August. I have a little bit of a mixture for you this time, with items ranging from skincare to makeup to lifestyle, and I bloody love every single one of them. I hope you do too!

August Favourites 2

Max Factor Colour Collections Lipstick – ‘Midnight Mauve’

My first favourite is this beautiful lipstick by Max Factor. It’s not a product that’s new to me – I’ve actually owned it for around a year already – but for some reason, this month I have really started to gravitate towards it. I know that in summer time you’re supposed to opt for bright ‘summery’ colours, but to be honest that’s never really been my style. I much prefer deeper pinks or purples, so this cool-toned mauve is simply perfect for me. The formula is stunning as well: it’s really pigmented, yet still creamy and moisturising on the lips. Before now, I haven’t actually tried many products from Max Factor as I’ve always considered them a little on the pricey side for a drugstore brand, but I have been genuinely impressed by this lipstick (and surprised by it’s Β£6.99 price tag!) Perhaps it’s time to do a little Max Factor haul?…

August Favourites 5.jpg

No7 Airbrush Away Primer

Also hitting the mark this month is the Airbrush Away primer by No7. The other week I posted a One Brand Beauty Haul containing a few products that I had picked up from No7 at Boots, and I mentioned that I had received a little gift set with my purchase that contained (along with an eyeshadow and a mascara) this tiny little tube of goodness. I’ve been using this underneath my foundation since the day I got it and I’ve been so so impressed. Texture-wise, it is definitely a silicone based primer, which is something that I tend to prefer as my pores are unfortunately quite large. I’ve really noticed a difference after using it and, let’s be honest, anything with the word ‘airbrush’ in it is a winner in my book!

August Favourites 7

Freedom Makeup London Pro Highlight – ‘Diffused’

In terms of highlighter, I’ve been obsessed with this one from Freedom Makeup London. Like the primer, I featured this product in a haul at the beginning of August, and since trying it out I have pretty much fallen in love with it. I’ve always been a person who preferred a heavy, in-your-face kind of glow, but this highlighter has completely changed my mind. It’s subtle, but stunning. It’s the type of product that gives you an elegant look, while at the same time being completely suitable to use on a daily basis. I’m due to start a new job next week and I know that I’ll definitely be reaching for this in the mornings!

August Favourites 6

MUA Eyeshadow Palette – ‘Hall of Fame’

Yes, it’s another MUA eyeshadow palette. I have a problem okay! I received this particular one in my August Glossybox, and I’ve found that I’ve been using it again and again. It’s marketed as a collection of MUA’s favourite shades from previous palettes, and I can definitely see why they decided to compile them into a whole new product. Every shadow is soft, pigmented and oh-so blendable. Literally every single one! I’m a massive fan of neutral eye looks for daytime and smokier looks for the evening, so the colour range in this palette manages to accommodate my every need. If you haven’t tried it already, definitely do – it’s only Β£4!

August Favourites 4.jpg

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

My skincare favourite for the month of August is, by far, the Micellar Cleansing Water by Garnier. This is a product that I’ve heard about on countless occasions by every single blogger and their mum, but I actually only got around to trying it this month! I purchased it in this little ‘on the go’ size as I knew that I’d be going away throughout August and a travel-friendly bottle would come in handy. To be perfectly honest, I can’t say that it’s much different from any other micellar water that I’ve tried, but for some reason it just calls my name. Maybe it’s the size of the bottle…why am I so obsessed with tiny cute things?!

August Favourites 3

Sea Salt and Lavender candle by Primark Home

Talking of cute things, I’m also in love with this candle. Those of you who follow me on Instagram will already have seen me rave about this little fella a couple of weeks back – and I still can’t get enough of it! I very nearly didn’t buy it as I hate lavender scents, but after giving every single candle in the store a good sniff (as you do, totally normal), I realised that this particular one smelled of sexy men. No, seriously! It smells like male aftershave, and it’s so relaxing to have lit when you’ve had a stressful day. Or when you just fancy pretending you have a man in your house hehe.

August Favourites 8.jpg

‘Yes Please’ by Amy Poehler

My final favourite is ‘Yes Please’, the autobiography of comedienne Amy Poehler. I’ve had this book for quite a while now, but found myself rekindling a lot of love for it whilst on holiday this month. I’m an enormous fan of Amy Poehler and Parks and Recreation. And SNL. And Sisters. Basically everything she’s ever done or been in, I adore. Her autobiography is, without doubt, one of the best I have ever read and I know that it’s something I’ll keep on my bookshelf for a really long time to come. If you haven’t read it yet, expect to be both hysterically laughing and sobbing uncontrollably within moments of each other. The lady is a genius.

So there you have it: my favourites for the month of August. I know that this has been quite a long post, but I’ve been loving so many things recently that I honestly couldn’t whittle them down any further! Let me know in the comments if you like/have/want any of the items that I’ve mentioned…and of course, tell me what your August favourites are!

Love, H x

P.S – I’m really sorry for the poor quality of photos included in this post – I think my camera is having a meltdown!

 

 

7 thoughts on “August Favourites…

Leave a Reply

