Beauty Bust | L’Oreal Paris Glam Shine Splash Lip Stain

Before I get into this post, I just wanted to give you all a little update. Some of you may have noticed that I haven’t been uploading as regularly as I used to – for that, I’m very sorry. I’m not one to make excuses, but a few weeks ago I started a new full-time job in marketing and I’ve barely had a chance to wash my own hair. Gross, I know (p.s – yes I am exaggerating). I honestly do miss posting, and I’ve promised myself that as soon as I settle in at my job I’m going to make a conscious effort to get back to my blogging schedule. I mean, who else is going to bleat on about eyeshadow three times a week with an alarming amount on enthusiasm – right? Anyway…

Loreal Lipgloss 4.jpg

Now, I don’t often write about products that I don’t like – and there’s a very good reason for that. Like most of you, I’m obsessed with reading other beauty blogs and I very rarely buy anything that I haven’t cross-checked within the #bblogger community first. What can I say, I’m a cautious kind of gal (jk I’m just skint and can’t afford to spend my money on rubbish things). Despite that, I went against my golden rule and picked up this lip stain from L’Oreal a few months ago without researching it beforehand. Boy did I regret that decision.

When I first opened the product, I really tried my best to get past that classic L’Oreal old-lady scent. Honestly, I really did. Unfortunately, it was so strong that I couldn’t ignore it. I genuinely don’t understand why they won’t change it! So many people have complained about it, and I don’t believe it adds that much to the ‘authenticity’ of L’Oreal products. Just get rid of it! Or replace it with something lovely like vanilla. Mmmm…

As well as the smell, the texture didn’t do it for me either. It was thick and sticky, and just generally not pleasant to have on the lips. Besides the fact that I ended up with my hair plastered to my mouth for a full afternoon, I didn’t even get a good colour payoff for my troubles! In the tube the colour looks really pigmented, so I was more than disappointed to find out that it was pretty much nonexistent. Boooo L’Oreal.

loreal-lipgloss-2

For me, the one good thing about this lippie is the applicator. Its an oval-shaped, doe-foot sponge and it applies the product perfectly in just one swipe. It’s soft, yet flexible and caresses the contours of your lips as you use it. But all-in-all, there’s no point in a good applicator if the product is dreadful!

I don’t know…maybe I’m just picky, but this product really shouldn’t be marketed as a stain. It’s not. Not even a little bit. It’s a gloss, at best. I personally don’t like lip glosses, so I never spend my money on them – they just don’t do it for me. If this lippie had been named correctly, I wouldn’t have spent £7.99 on it and probably wouldn’t be this annoyed about how rubbish it is. Ahh well.

If you want to try the L’Oreal Paris Glam Shine Splash Lip Stain, you can pick it up in store or on the Boots website. Let me know what you think – I’d love to know if your opinion is different from mine, and why etc…

Have a fantastic week m’lovlies!

Love, H x

One thought on “Beauty Bust | L’Oreal Paris Glam Shine Splash Lip Stain

Leave a Reply

