An Update: My Three-Point-Plan

* WARNING: Long-winded motivational pep talk ahead! (I’d grab a cuppa if I were you) *

FullSizeRender

Have you ever had one of those moments? You know…when you’re happy and content in your routine but then suddenly, completely without warning, you get the urge to leap into something completely different. One of those ones.

I tend to get those now and again. The last time that happened to me I jumped out of a plane (raising over £1000 for Breast Cancer Care in the process, yay me), and this time I hopped on a plane to Canada. Okay, so it wasn’t completely spontaneous – I have a friend currently studying over there, and I’d always told her that I’d visit – but for me, it was an adventure. Since starting a job in the big scary grown up world last September I had somewhat lost myself. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job, I love my company and I’m forever grateful to them for taking a chance on me – I just never anticipated how quickly it would become my entire life. I haven’t quite cracked that coveted work/life balance thing that everybody raves about just yet, so my little Canadian escape helped me to put a few things back into perspective.

My career is my focus right now – it has to be. This might be the first step in my adult life, but it’s paramount in helping me to reach my ultimate goal and I can’t afford to underestimate it. But at the same time, I need to remember that I’m only 22 years old! I’m practically a foetus in “grown up” terms! If I don’t take chances and give in to adventure right now, I might never get the opportunity to.

So, I’ve come up with a three-point-plan to make a change:

1.)    Travel.

It’s official, I have fallen in love with Vancouver. I’ve never been to a place that encompasses so much peace, contentment, vitality before. Apart from having bloody beautiful scenery, it has that rare quality that makes you feel like you’ve come home. Do you get me? Or am I waffling? Point of the story – go to Vancouver again. Then go everywhere else I’ve ever dreamed of. It really does help you to open your eyes to the bigger picture: at the end of the day, you’re a tiny fish in a gargantuan pond. There’s a million places you have the opportunity to explore rather that swimming around in your own little bubble. Take a breath, visit somewhere beautiful, then go home with a renewed sense of opportunity and self-love. It’s important.

2.)    Build the career that’s right for you.

I’m incredibly lucky to have the job that I have. I’m not going to go into too much detail, but it’s a fantastic place to work and I’ve really landed on my feet by gaining a position there. The only trouble is, I’m still so new. I stepped straight out of university into this amazing career with all the aspirations of taking over the world. I wanted to prove myself, reach the top and smash everyone‘s expectations…and along the way I stressed myself out beyond measure. What I’m starting to realise is that – whilst aspiring to do well is certainly important – you need to be able to walk before you can run. I’m keeping up the momentum, but I’m slowly-but-surely learning to not be quite so hard on myself when things don’t go according to plan. At 18, I had every intention of partying my way through uni and then immediately landing a book deal at the age of 21. At 22, I know better. And I’m willing to work hard for my objectives.

3.)    Blog!

If you were to see me right now, you’d see a little puppy with her tail between her legs. I feel absolutely awful that I’ve let An Average Wednesday fall by the wayside lately. It’s my baby; my project – I love writing about all the beauty goodness that inspires me, and sharing it with you guys makes me more than happy. But a few months ago, I lost sight of what I started it all for. It felt like I was forcing myself to write about things, and I wasn’t giving it the time or adoration that it needed. I love to write, but when your head isn’t feeling it…there’s just nothing you can do about it. A lot of you are bloggers – so you know exactly what I’m talking about. Taking some time away gave me the clarity that I needed: I’m going back to basics. I’m going to write about exactly what I want to. I’m not going to let stats or comments or follower numbers blur my vision, because I’m doing what I love. What else matters? If you like beauty, lifestyle and (sometimes far too long-winded) opinions, stick with me. I’m not bothered about the rest.

So, that’s my plan. Right now, my goal is to improve my juggling skills. I want to be fantastic at my job, whilst simultaneously kicking-ass at blogging and having as much fun as possible. And as hard as it may seem at this moment in time, I think I’m going to get there. That is, if I can manage to tear myself away from my duvet and Grey’s Anatomy boxset…

Love, H x

2 thoughts on “An Update: My Three-Point-Plan

Leave a Reply

